Advise needed - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 1Likes

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 09:06 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Advise needed

I am seriously considering doing the TAT. My concerns are, I will be doing it alone, I will be doing it on a big heavy bike (my AT) and my final concern is my age (57). I have been riding a motorcycle now for 47 years and consider myself above average but have not been on a dirt bike for a very long time now and I am new to this adventurer thing. A big concern is getting into some ruff stuff dropping the AT and not being able to pick it up. I will not have time to do the whole thing but I would like to make it to the Colorado border (about 1900 miles) then slab it for home. I'd like to hear from others who have done the trail and what they think about doing it alone on a big bike. I have done many long trips on the road but none on the trail so I think I'm just looking for some encouragement to tackle something like this.

2016 Silver DCT # 000051
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 09:42 PM

Garage
I have no doubt that you can do the TAT at your age. Always better if you ride with a partner. Hard to do, but take it slow.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Arkansas Orak Cafe.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	13834  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2017, 10:27 PM

Thumbs up

Hi - I'd love to do that trail some day too.

Have you put the bike down (gently) and tried to pick it up?

I realize this is not the same as being in a tough spot out on the trail but it might give you an idea.

You've probably got this covered but another task to master for that trip could flat/tube repair.

Keep roll'n!!

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-10-2017, 05:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fster View Post