Where to splice or connect a power supply for GPS. - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 17Likes

post #1 of 72 (permalink) Old 02-12-2016, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Garage
Where to splice or connect a power supply for GPS.

Hi everyone,
Thanks for the knowledge on this forum, I'm a newbie and have been reading up on a lot of interesting threads.

I have a question to see if anyone has been successful in splicing into a powered wire to supply the GPS unit with switched power?

I know there is a USB connector on offer from Honda, and it's ridicules amount of money for a plastic tube PLUS, my dealer is saying they'll need to charge 2 hours work shop fees because it'll take that long to take the fairing off.
So therefore, I will be doing it my self. I have done this before on my Bonneville, and it's pretty easy, but I have no idea where to begin on these newer bikes.

Anyone done something similar already?

Also, where is the battery located? I'm guessing it's in a pretty water proof box? Which means it's hard to get a cable connected directly from the battery?

Thanks in advance!
Richard
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 72 (permalink) Old 02-12-2016, 03:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Washryc View Post
Also, where is the battery located? I'm guessing it's in a pretty water proof box? Which means it's hard to get a cable connected directly from the battery?
This video is useaful again! Go to time 4:24...
post #3 of 72 (permalink) Old 02-12-2016, 04:01 PM

Hi, the battery is located below the fuel tank on the left hand side. It's in a box behind the tool kit box.

If you download the AT accessories brochure you will see a picture of the 12v power socket with a short lead and a connector. This connector I presume just plugs into a socket already located behind the fairing. If you can find that, then you will have your power supply. Just fit a marine grade 12v cigarette type socket.

Gar.