Touratech Rallye Skid Plate? - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 08:12 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 73
Touratech Rallye Skid Plate?

Just saw this video and it appears that both will have to be removed for an oil change. Does anyone know for sure?
Sgtt45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pacific North West U.S.A.
Posts: 122
[email protected] Send 'em an E-mail and ask.
Mudslingr is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Alberta
Posts: 230
Don't they all need to be removed for an oil change?
Coast2Coast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 73
Of course they all have to be removed in order to change the oil but if you watch the video they have two separate components a base frame and then the skid plate. I sent them an email waiting on response.
AdvArt likes this.
Sgtt45 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 116
I watched the video too and it does appear the "mounting" plate is in the way and will have to be removed to get to the oil filter.... ugh..

Seeing as I already have the touratech lower crashbars, I think I'm stuck using a touratech skid plate. Altrider says theres will not work with other 3rd party manufacturers
AdvArt is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2017, 10:37 PM
Senior Member
 
High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 256
Most skid plates have to be removed. Something to consider when purchasing one, how easy is it to remove for the service.
High Country is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 116
No offense, did you watch the video?

Agreed, just about EVERY skidplate out there for the AT requires the skidplate be removed to access the oil filter. BUT if you watch the video you'll see the Touratech system uses a "bracket" that mounts to the frame first. The skidplate then mounts to the "bracket". If you look at the Touratech instructions on their site it appears this bracket is in front of the oil filter, blocking easy access.

So when it comes time to perform an oil filter change, unlike the stock unit or even the altrider unit where you would simply just drop the skid plate, you also need to remove the bracket. Not a huge deal, just another piece to remove and install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Country View Post
Most skid plates have to be removed. Something to consider when purchasing one, how easy is it to remove for the service.
AdvArt is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 73
Just got an email back from them and here is what they say....

"Thanks for your inquiry. With the new plate, the skid plate and bracket will
need to come off for filter removal, but the oil can be drained with just
removing the skidplate."
Sgtt45 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgtt45 View Post
Just got an email back from them and here is what they say....

"Thanks for your inquiry. With the new plate, the skid plate and bracket will
need to come off for filter removal, but the oil can be drained with just
removing the skidplate."
Who the **** drains the oil without replacing the oil filter? LOL C'mon now!
Sgtt45 likes this.
Nemesis is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-20-2017, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvArt View Post
No offense, did you watch the video?

Agreed, just about EVERY skidplate out there for the AT requires the skidplate be removed to access the oil filter. BUT if you watch the video you'll see the Touratech system uses a "bracket" that mounts to the frame first. The skidplate then mounts to the "bracket". If you look at the Touratech instructions on their site it appears this bracket is in front of the oil filter, blocking easy access.

So when it comes time to perform an oil filter change, unlike the stock unit or even the altrider unit where you would simply just drop the skid plate, you also need to remove the bracket. Not a huge deal, just another piece to remove and install.

Yep, watched their video then bought the AltRider
Nemesis likes this.
High Country is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bumot Skid Plate Skyhigh Appearance & Body 12 01-17-2018 05:06 PM
Black Dog Cycle Works Skid Plate.......lots of BEEF! African Twin Mofo Parts and Accessories 2 03-23-2017 03:42 PM
OEM Pegs, Passenger Pegs and Skid Plate SAFDmike CRF1000L Africa Twin Parts 1 03-08-2017 08:45 AM
AltRider Skid plate Install on the Africa Twin WOODZMAN Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Videos 0 02-10-2017 08:49 PM
Altrider Skid Plate fitment G20 Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin General Discussion Forum 3 01-26-2017 09:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome