False Neutral - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 8Likes

post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 06-02-2017, 04:36 PM Thread Starter

Garage
False Neutral

I was trying to ignore this, but...

I've been riding motorcycles for 16 years on the street. I know what I'm doing in the shifting department. I've never had so many false neutrals as I've had on my 2016 AT. Sometimes as many as four in one day, sometimes I go weeks without it happening - that in and of itself is frustrating. After I started paying close attention, I see that it's always between 3rd and 4th, and when it happens, it seems that when lifted, the shifter simply doesn't come up all the way to engage into 4th. If I had to guess, I would say there is an ever so slight defect in the manufacturing of one of the parts in the transmission. Even something a slight as a tiny burr or a wavering groove might cause it to happen.

I learned the hard way on a different motorcycle with similar symptoms, that the most important thing is to know what to do to mitigate damage to the transmission. That is, as soon as it misses...

1. Pull in the clutch. DO NOT let the transmission catch or engage itself. That's where the damage happens.
2. Get the RPMs up.
3. Shift into another gear (I like to go down).
4. Clutch out normally. Carry on.

What I also know about manufacturers in general, is that they'll do anything and everything to avoid a recall. So if in fact there was a small manufacturing defect or anomaly, we're probably stuck with it. The information isn't going to trickle down to the dealers.

Your experiences?

-motofabio
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 06-02-2017, 09:45 PM

Garage
Same deal for me. I have had 50 bikes in my life. The vast majority have NEVER had a false neutral. It is not my boots, my technique or sloppiness. This bike has transmission issues. Almost all my false neutrals are between 4th and 5th, going into 5th.

It is probably enough to make me sell the bike early.

Rob