Getting settled in the the DCT. - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 1Likes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-26-2017, 05:16 PM Thread Starter

Getting settled in the the DCT.

Finally after a little over 500 miles I've got the DCT down. Slow speed parking lot stuff felt weird to me like I didn't have control of the bike. But now it's a breeze to handle and maybe the transmission is breaking in some. I found that with the traction control turned off and sport mode 2 works the best for me. I was worried that the DCT would hurt my manual shifting ability but it hasn't in the least but then it would be hard to mess up some 45 years of riding a manual shift. I rode my KLR to work today and it felt light. Light and KLR usually don't go together.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-26-2017, 06:45 PM

I hear ya. I've been riding for over 30 years with a "manual" shift. I was worried the DCT was going to mess me up when I got on my Ducati. Like you though too many years of muscle memory. The only thing I did a couple of times after riding my AT for a few weeks and not my Ducati was just twist the throttle when I was at a light in neutral and had to shift into first. But haven't had that issue since...

I'm a big fan of the DCT. Really fantastic off-road especially when things get technical. Nice not having to worry about stalling the bike on a steep loose rocky section!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdub View Post