Riding Position - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 09:15 AM Thread Starter

Riding Position

I've been riding for many years on lots of different bikes dirt to sport but never a large ADV bike. My question centers around how to set up the bar height or ride height for a comfortable ride sitting but the proper height while standing. I've been pretty busy since I bought the bike ( kids graduations and such) so I've only put about 1300 miles on it but noticed while standing both my legs and arms are pretty much straight and I'm thinking , like a dirt bike they should be slightly bent for better comfort and control.
What riding position is best for off-road and gravel in your opinions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 12:54 PM

There are heaps of videos out there on the subject and just as many different opinions. For example Chris Birch has a definite opinion on the matter and he definitely is against bar risers. I've also had very talented big bike riders tell me not to read nor listen to anyone on the subject and do what makes you feel most comfortable....basically whatever works for you. I'm in the middle. I commute daily but get off road as much as I can. On my 2017 manual I have a set of standard rox risers and brought the bars back slightly. At 6' flat that gives me a good position both seated and standing. The biggest thing I've discovered is maintaining a good triangle off road...to do and being able to shift my weight I've found a short windscreen is better so I don't kiss it with my beak. Good luck
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 03:39 AM