Adventure’s and other travel’s - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
View Poll Results: When remote riding do you carry a ‘old school” map/atlas ?
No 5 21.74%
Yes 9 39.13%
I’m alway in city/towns/villages 1 4.35%
I just trust/rely on my GPS 4 17.39%
No because I’m not proficient navigating with one 0 0%
Yes, and I can somewhat navigate by one 2 8.70%
Yes and I’m proficient with map/compass navigation 9 39.13%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

4Likes
  • 1 Post By Dave B
  • 1 Post By AdvArt
  • 1 Post By knoxswift
  • 1 Post By AT-Dragon

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2019, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Adventure’s and other travel’s

OK admittedly I am a tech s l u t, I love technology and me, my bike, my truck, an my home are all seriously wired. But when I do travel I ALWAYS have a non-electronic backup especially when remote traveling on my bike. Luckily for me my home state has (and I carry) a state atlas, a kinda big but well detailed multi page atlas. But It has got everything covered from fire roads (two tracks) , and rail tracks, power line’s and a lot of the larger state trail system, even large drainage ditches..Yea i’m Old school military trained to read and navigate buy maps and compass, but this map is pretty much so detailed that if you have even just some small bit of intelligence and eyesight, getting lost would be.. well let’s put it this way, the law of Darwinism should take you if you get lost with it.

So a question: When traveling on remote adventures do you take a physical map with you ?

And OMG! PLEASE do not say “ I have my phone and it has all the maps I need” Because when I say remote travels, I mean remote travels, places when you gotta travel for an hour(or better) just to get some where WITH a cell signal.

“If necessity is the mother of inventions, then laziness is the baby daddy.” A.A.

Last edited by AT-Dragon; 10-06-2019 at 10:16 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement