Shop Stand for Parking - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
OMB

Shop Stand for Parking

Hey....maybe a dumb question. I'm new to street bikes. Would you guys be comfortable just using one of those shop stands (*The ones that lift the front or rear tire) for parking? Specifically, leaving it out in the parking lot with the shop standing doing all the holding in place duties? Seems like it would be more stable than the kick stand but I really don't know.

I know the OEM center stand is the tool of choice for this, but I'm not sure I want to add it and the extra weight. Don't worry about security, it will be in a super safe area.

Anyways...what is more stable? The shop stand or the kick stand.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 08:59 AM

If you have a DCT make sure you use the parking brake. Otherwise it's in neutral. I never leave any of my other bikes in neutral when park on the sidestand.

I totally trust sidestands. BUT I only use Pitbull Stands. when I put my bikes up for the winter, especially my Track bike, it's on a front and rear stand. It stays that way for the winter.

My ATAS. I'm just going to use the centerstand and a small jack to lift the front slightly so there isn't as much weight on it.

2019 Africa Twin Adventure Sports
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-11-2019, 10:37 PM