Installing Rostra Cruise Control HELP... - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-03-2019, 08:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Lowriderbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: East Texas
Posts: 19
Garage
Installing Rostra Cruise Control HELP...

I'm getting ready to install the Rostra CC on my 2017 AT DCT. I would appreciate any guidance from someone that has done this install.

Things I am most concerned about are:
Where do you pick up the speed sensor? Is there a wire I can splice into and if so where is it located? or do I need to get the optional magnetic pickup they sell and where is the best place to mount it?

Where can I get a wiring diagram that I can actually use? Found one online, but it is way too dense for my ol' eyes to read.

I have already installed the Eastern Beaver connectors for the front accessory wiring and the under-seat wiring. So, I have access to switched power, brake lights, etc.

Is there a special/best place to mount the servo?

Thanks in advance, Bud...
Lowriderbud is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
-mek-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 141
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowriderbud View Post
I'm getting ready to install the Rostra CC on my 2017 AT DCT. I would appreciate any guidance from someone that has done this install.

Things I am most concerned about are:
Where do you pick up the speed sensor? Is there a wire I can splice into and if so where is it located? or do I need to get the optional magnetic pickup they sell and where is the best place to mount it?

Where can I get a wiring diagram that I can actually use? Found one online, but it is way too dense for my ol' eyes to read.

I have already installed the Eastern Beaver connectors for the front accessory wiring and the under-seat wiring. So, I have access to switched power, brake lights, etc.

Is there a special/best place to mount the servo?

Thanks in advance, Bud...

Splice for the speed signal to pink wire on speedometer connector.


I've done Rostra on BMW R 1200 GS. Maybe you could use the R 1200 RT cable interface box for connecting the throttle cabels. Used ones are cheap on www.motorworks.co.uk
BMW part #32737672850


Don't buy the Rostra switch. Cut the Rostra cable harness and build your own and use for example Trailtech switches. https://advrider.com/f/threads/elect...#post-30234975


I sent you a PM, contact me by email so I can send you a McCruise installation instructions, they will help with Rostra installation too...

Last edited by -mek-; 06-04-2019 at 06:35 AM.
-mek- is online now  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
james.mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: East Sooke, BC, Canada
Posts: 109
Garage
@-mek- Great response!

regards
James Mc
Africa Twin Canada eh?


Current: 2017 CRF1000L DCT
Previous: 2008 Triumph Tiger 1050
Previous: 2003 Honda Varadero XL1000V (bought 2003, Sadly left behind in Europe)
james.mc is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome