What tire pressures for a mix of road and offroad riding? - Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By AdvArt
  • 1 Post By VFMoore

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 09:14 AM Thread Starter

Garage
What tire pressures for a mix of road and offroad riding?

Hello all,

As I mentioned elsewhere I am a beginner to the adv world in general and riding offroad in particular. I fitted a pair of Bridgestone AX41s on my ATAS and took them on my first ventures offroad. They are absolutely great on the highway and the backroads that lead to my favourite offroad spots. However, once offroad I can't say I feel particularly confident with them. I had the bike "dancing" underneath me on a few occasions on pretty mellow stuff at very low throttle. I think its probably down to the pressures I'm running (too high). What pressure are you guys running on your knobby tires?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 09:42 AM

I run Karoo 3s. I tend to run my tires at 25-26 psi. I find it works well onroad and offroad. Sure it means a bit more wear onroad, but it also has better grip....
Dibbs likes this.

2019 Africa Twin Adventure Sports
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvArt View Post
I run Karoo 3s. I tend to run my tires at 25-26 psi. I find it works well onroad and offroad. Sure it means a bit more wear onroad, but it also has better grip....
That's at the front tire, I'm guessing. Or do you run the same pressure front and rear?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 08:50 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Well, I was running 28/34 PSI on the front and rear respectively. I decided to keep the front at 28 but run the rear a little lower at 32. I will see how the bike behaves in the next few rides.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 09:07 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANSOME View Post