Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

When remote riding do you carry a ‘old school” map/atlas ?

• No

Votes: 7 25.0%
  • Yes

Votes: 9 32.1%
  • I’m alway in city/towns/villages

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • I just trust/rely on my GPS

Votes: 5 17.9%
  • No because I’m not proficient navigating with one

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, and I can somewhat navigate by one

Votes: 2 7.1%
  • Yes and I’m proficient with map/compass navigation

Votes: 11 39.3%

• Total voters
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,948 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK admittedly I am a tech s l u t, I love technology and me, my bike, my truck, an my home are all seriously wired. But when I do travel I ALWAYS have a non-electronic backup especially when remote traveling on my bike. Luckily for me my home state has (and I carry) a state atlas, a kinda big but well detailed multi page atlas. But It has got everything covered from fire roads (two tracks) , and rail tracks, power line’s and a lot of the larger state trail system, even large drainage ditches..Yea i’m Old school military trained to read and navigate buy maps and compass, but this map is pretty much so detailed that if you have even just some small bit of intelligence and eyesight, getting lost would be.. well let’s put it this way, the law of Darwinism should take you if you get lost with it.

So a question: When traveling on remote adventures do you take a physical map with you ?

And OMG! PLEASE do not say “ I have my phone and it has all the maps I need” Because when I say remote travels, I mean remote travels, places when you gotta travel for an hour(or better) just to get some where WITH a cell signal.

·
Registered
159 Posts
We don't have too many truly remote places in the UK but I just love paper maps. I find that using a satnav alone leaves me cold, yes it will get me from A to B but I want to know what is around me so whether on 50 mile or 350 ride I'll look at the map beforehand and at various points on route.

·
Registered