Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

First a little about myself. I am new to this forum and am not an active member of any other AT forum. I just bought my AT about a month ago so I'm real new to this scene. I grew up riding dirt (started when I was <4yo) and got into riding street about two years ago. I am a professional systems administrator/engineer.

Now to preface my question, the AT (at least 2018) is throttle by wire. I feel like it's a pretty smart machine, not letting me downshift into certain gears until I am under certain speeds (I have a manual and sometimes the gear I am trying to reach is unavailable), traction control seems to limit the throttle input depending on how it feels about wheel spin, ABS, etc. Knowing there is a computer between me and my throttle has me wondering.

Has anyone tried to get into the ECU to see if it is possible to add a primitive or "homebrew" traction control? The ECU should have all of the IO that you need to do this, and already takes advantage of this IO in certain ways so It's kind of confusing why it's not already there unless... there is some complication that makes it unintuitive enough to become a liability, or... who know?

If the built-in ECU can't handle the task because of memory limitations or something like that I wonder if you can't put a secondary ECU specifically for cruise control between it and the primary.

So, has anyone heard of this before, does anyone know if anyone is working on this or looking into this or has any technical information regarding the lack of cruise control for the AT?

Thanks!

·
Registered
111 Posts