Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here..I road hard desert moto for a decade, then street for a decade. Now I’m 54 and miss the dirt, so I compromised and got the awesome AT. Wondering what the average age is for this Adv type riding. I admit, things hurt, I had neck, spinal surgery last year, etc.. But I can’t give up my love for this stuff.
Talk to me 50+ year olds. Tell me you still kill it..
Thanks, and love the forum

·
Registered
125 Posts
I bought my AT a year ago at age 50 and already have over 12k miles on it. My riding partner is 56 and he just bought a brand new ktm 1290 super adventure and rides that thing off-road like he stole it.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I feel better already..:) Need tires, the OEM ones suck on dirt..Recommendations.?
Well, I can't recommend them from direct experience yet but I went with the Metzeler Karoo 3's and will install them soon on my ATAS. I think they will be a good balance for both street and dirt riding for me. All of the research I did, and I did a boat load, indicates the tires are good and all of the AT's at the Honda Adventure Centre in Wales run them. Check out their gallery at the link below to see what kind of conditions they are riding them in and good luck in making your choice! There are certainly plenty of other good options out there along with a gazillion "which tires are best?" threads. The others I considered seriously were the Conti TKC80's.

https://hondaadventurecentre.com

I just got my ATAS @ 50 and I am looking forward to rolling up the miles on it both on and off road. I intend to do the Idaho Backcountry Discovery Route which is 1250 miles (10% paved) from the southern state line to the Canadian border.

https://ridebdr.com/IDBDR

·
Registered
7 Posts