Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I apologize up front as some may consider this a dumb question, but I have the opportunity to buy either a standard 2019 DCT or a 2018 Adventure Sport manual (within $300 of each other). I am racking my brain to decide, but wondered if anyone here could offer some fresh perspective. I plan on test riding both in the next few days, and that may help me decide. But in the end, I have been riding for about 4 years and have no issue with a manual transmission.
My situation is that I'm getting both bikes for around the same price. So either is a good deal.
Even if I like the DCT better, I'm stuck with the fact that I can get all of the extras I get with the Adv Sport (bigger tank, heated grips, 12v adapter, bigger screen, crash bars, etc.) for about the same price as the standard DCT.
So here's my dilemma:

Argument for buying the Adv Sport:
If I buy the DCT, I would add crash bars and 12v adapter almost right away, adding about $1,000 to the price. So at this point the Adv sport is a much better deal. Especially considering the better windscreen, and heated grips which I would also eventually add to the DCT.

Argument for the standard DCT:
I can eventually add all of the things to the DCT that are on the Adv. sport (except the bigger gas tank), but I can never add the DCT transmission to the Adventure Sport.

I failed to mention that there are no Adv sport DCTs on sale in my area, which would make my choice much easier. :)

So in the end, is it worth getting the the DCT and building up the add-ons over time, or getting the Adv Sport which already has most of what I would add to it, and live with the manual transmission?
Is the DCT so good that it's worth forgoing the better deal of the Adv. Sport.
BTW, the 2019 DCT = $11,600 the 2018 Adv Sport = $11,900.

Sooooooo confused....

·
Registered
140 Posts