Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone.
Finally I got my so much wanted driver’s license last tuesday. I’m from Lisbon area in Portugal and I’m 43.
I started riding this April, so as newbie as I can get. For professional \ geographic reasons I decided to buy a 125cc Honda Forza scooter for my daily commute (round 70 km/day). I always liked bicycles and motorcycles. The first never were a problem but the latter my parents always persuaded me not to get one due to their high risk of accident.
I enjoy so much riding that I decided to get my drivers license.
How did I get here?! Well since the early models, I always liked trail bikes (now they like to call it adventure) and the one I liked the most was the Africa Twin.
When I went to the dealerships getting info about the Forza I saw the new AT and I confess I got quite impressed. Especially the tri-color, which i find evocative of the first AT’s.
In the beginning I even asked myself if an AT wouldn’t be more than I can handle, but talking with some friends which have been riding 20+ years and even with my driving instructor (who participates in amateur championships) and all of them say that the AT is an excellent bike and by no means is more that i can handle. They generally said that if I was thinking in getting some supersport, then they would advise me not to get it, but with an AT there shouldn’t be a problem, if ridden in a sensible manner.