Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 5'6" and half so when I sit on an AT at 33.5" I can touch the ground with my toes. I read you should be able to stand flat footed on a street bike though I don't think that's possible on these bikes. How much of my feet should touch the ground to be safe? I intend to ride mostly street and some off road. The AT will be my only source of transportation.

I read you can buy kits to lower these bikes though may create problems. I didn't see other threads about this or know where it should be posted. Any assistance is appreciated.

·
Registered
3 Posts
So I'm new to the African Twin (like picked it up on Monday) so I can't speak to the options of lowering it. Personally, I'd try to avoid doing anything extensively to lower it except for changing the seat. I know my '18 adventure sports seat has two settings just by placing the seat in a different latches. I'm 5'11" and have it on the lower setting. I've read that there's a different seat that is even lower.

Anyways, I don't think there's any hard and fast rule that you need to be able to flat foot a street bike. Obviously, if you're a new rider, then being able to flat foot a street bike is at least somewhat safer. But if you feel safe/comfortable, I wouldn't worry about it. Just be aware that you could touch down on a slick surface and that could be an issue.

·
Registered
743 Posts
I’m same height with 32” inseam. Stock bike with seat on low position is fine.
My suspension SAG is properly set for my 150lb necked + year weight @16 clicks in from ful out.
Balls of feet on ground.
Get used to sliding your ass for one foot flat down other on peg Dirt Bike style when you need it.
I wouldn’t lower the suspension.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Shoot...I have you guys all beat!