Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Crash Bars (again - again) - I doubt my HB bars will actually protect my bike

I was at an ADV rally last weekend - part riding, part lectures. One of the lectures I attended was on "The Science of Crash Bar Protection". This was a talk given by Jeremy LeBreton of AltRider. After listening to his explanation of good design principles to be followed in crash bar design (while I am not a mechanical engineer, I do have a solid grounding in mechanics and physics - and his points all made sense to me) I went to look at my Hepco Becker bars that I have on my AT. They violated a couple of good principles:
the bars are partly flattened where they join - this makes production easier, but lessens their strength any time the round tube is flattened
designing the bar so that distance between solid attachment points is at a minimum and that any extensions that are not directly tied to attachment points are at a minimum

I gave my lower engine bars a soft kick and was disturbed (actually I was pissed off) to see how much they flex with just a relatively gentle tap - the bars on the right side actually hit the engine casing with this tap from my foot. I took a slo-mo video (not allowed to upload videos, so if you are interested, you can see them at the link below) to show the flex of the bars. I was giving them a pretty gentle tap with my shoe - nothing like the force they would get when your 525 lb bike hits the ground. There are 3 videos - AT left side, AT right side, and AltRider bars on the BMW GS.