Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I had a crash a few weeks ago which sadly bent the frame of my beloved CRF1000L (All the other parties fault). Not one to shy away from challenges I have decided that she's not dead to me yet! I bought the bike back off the insurance company.... The frame is knackered, front-wheel and fairings too but the forks appear to be fine (i'll have them checked though).

I have purchased a brand new frame from Honda and will be doing a total frame swap and turning the bike int a much more aggressive rally ready machine complete with rally front end and bodywork, a repainted frame, full exhaust system, filters, power commander and suspension upgrades to name a few....

I'll be starting the project very soon and wanted to see if there is an appetite for people to follow the journey, I've never done anything like this before apart from a bit of spannering so should be fun..... gulp...

I'm getting the necessary stands and tools in place and will start a series of videos soon.

I will definitely need some help along the way!!!

Cheers!!

Jay

·
Registered
377 Posts
Now this is a major and mostly difficult "journey" you are getting into. I wish you all the best. Unfortunately we are too far away to offer any help.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Wow this will be fun. Please take and share loads of photos and what about using this opportunity to launch your YouTube channel and let us follow your journey. You never know when you might need to help that subscribers like me could assist! I would try and not let this become a chore, but take it steady and enjoy every minute. This project will teach you loads.

Large child + large toy = loads of fun!

Good luck.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Yep good luck with the build, and I also love pics and videos of this sort of thing so I will be watching!!

·
Registered
208 Posts