Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

I'm doing my MC endorsement this weekend, I just put money down on a bike I haven't ever ridden yet... 2018 Africa Twin DCT in black... but checks all the boxes for me and I know I'll love the bike.

I'm an army veteran and software engineer in Seattle.

Looking forward to connecting w/ the community here.

Thanks, David

·
Registered
78 Posts
Hey there,

I'm doing my MC endorsement this weekend, I just put money down on a bike I haven't ever ridden yet... 2018 Africa Twin DCT in black... but checks all the boxes for me and I know I'll love the bike.

I'm an army veteran and software engineer in Seattle.

Looking forward to connecting w/ the community here.

Thanks, David

First of all, thank you for your service. Sounds like this might be your first bike. It is a tall heavy bike so start slow and find your comfort zone. And yes, you will love this bike.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the welcome. Correct, first bike, plan on doing a lot of closed course training as well.

Any recommendations are welcome for advice and equipment.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Welcome! I'm out in Issaquah and hoping to do a few offroad trips this summer, hit me up if you want to do a local cruise sometime. I second the "tall and heavy bike" comment, this is my 3rd bike (about 18k total miles on 2 wheels) and that top heavy part was tricky to get used to. The only thing the AT will have in common with the bikes you ride in class and to get your endorsement is that they both have 2 wheels and handlebars, everything else will be drastically different! I applaud you for buying a great bike but I can't imagine being in your shoes, you have a steep learning curve ahead of you, good luck!

·
Registered
3 Posts