Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I am Roberto and new to this forum.
I have been riding motorcycles for more than 40 years now and due to polio on my lower extremities I can not switch gears with my left foot so, all of my bikes had been scooters, starting long time ago with a 50cc scooter until my last scooter I still own a 2017 BMW 650 C.
Then, looking for something bigger I could ride, actually a Honda ADV 750cc scooter, I ran into the Honda Africa Twin DCT and my life changed!!
To make a long story short I just got my 2019 AT and put 1,000 km on it on the first week.
I can not believe the smart that automatic transmision is!!! It seems like it is reading my mind when shifting.
I have not riden my bike off road yet but I will as soon as I get it back from the 1,000 km service.
This has been a great discovering for a handicap rider as me and I think out there are many riders in my condiction who still does not know about this wonderfull motorcycle that can get us back on the road again.
I am planing my first long ride for april. A two thousand miles ride in 5 days time and I am a little nervous to see If I can get along with this bike as it is bigger than anything I have ridden before.
Will post a report afterwards, for better or worst.
I am very excited!!!

·
Registered
165 Posts
Hi Roberto! My father has polio too, and he only rode scooters. It sounds like you have found the perfect bike. Safe travels!

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Planing a trip in a couple of weeks to Texas Hill Country.
This will be the first "real" trip for my 2019 AT DCT. We will ride about 2,000 miles in 5 days time and attend the Moto GP race at COTA speedway in Austin,TX.
We'll see how this bike performs on longer trips. So far, it has done great in shorter rides!!!

·