Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone in the states tried out the new trailmax missions? They aren't available in the UK yet (that I have seen), however chaparrel motorsports gave them a great review and even agreed that they were true 50/50 tyres!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Glad you found a setting that works great for you! What I also noticed, was initially with the OEM tires, I had to fight the bike in the curves, it would have a tendency to go wide. When I changed the tires for Shinkos 804/805, it completely transformed the bike, the bike now falls into corners effortlessly. Insane the difference a tire can make.
First, I'd like to admit that I'm a noob. I've had my bike less than two months and the cold and rain of Tennessee winter has greatly limited my seat time. But I did break my bike in 600 - 700 miles before I realized that I absolutely had to make a change.

Second, I'd like to agree with the quote above, even I could tell immediately that the stock Dunlop Trailmax D610 tires are complete garbage. On and off road. I agree with Speedo007's comment that the bike fought me in curves. And off road, they are worse than I imagine quality street tires would be. I always felt like I was risking my left to tread off the asphalt.

On to my review ... The difference between Dunlop Trailmax D610 and Dunlop "Trailmax" MISSION tires is amazing. When I rode the bike home on Friday, it was honestly unsettling how eager they are to drop into a turn. The transition is smooth and confidence inspiring. Now I realize this is how the bike was supposed to be. On a straight road, the tires are steady and quiet. I burst up to 90 mph for a few minutes just to see and they never waivered and had no vibration or abnormal sound.