Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am new to biking at the age of 49, I was looking for advice on the Africa Twin. I have bought a new Kawasaki Z650 to learn on, with the intention of moving up to the Honda when I get some experience.
I have a modified Jeep which I use off-road and had intended to do some long trips abroad now that my kids are grown up. My oldest boy persuaded me to get a bike after he bought one, I then got the idea of doing some travelling with a bike rather than the Jeep as it would be a lot cheaper than using the Jeep.

I planned to do some off-road courses on the bike, but after sitting on an Africa Twin a couple of days ago, it seemed to fit me well and I felt as though I could have ridden off on it.
I was close to part exchanging my new Z650 on the spot, but my question is how suitable is the Africa for a new rider to be learning on, the salesman did not think it would be a problem, but I would like to hear from someone impartial who knows what they are talking about.

I have no intention of pushing the bike anywhere near it's limits either on or off road. I am currently jumping through the hoops to get my license, theory test completed on Monday and I have had to do a CBT again as my last one expired, my only real experience is on a 125 I bought for one of my boys about 4 years ago and a 50cc when I was 16.

Cheers
Chris

·
Registered
31 Posts
Hello 67. Welcome to the forum!

As a veteran rider, in my opinion the AT is a big, heavy beast. Lots of power, lots of FUN!

Dumping this thing-on road or off will be painfully expensive. It's heavy and believe me, you don't want to have to pick it up.

However, I would not let that stop you from buying it. Just remember the learning curve may be steep.