Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not new to riding (have owned various dual sport and dirt bikes), but I am new to an AT. After much research and riding, I’ve narrowed down to this bike and I’m excited. Use will be occasional commute to work, but primarily weekend fun riding, including to/from/at our ranch in the Texas Hill Country.

I am absolutely paralyzed on which variant to purchase. Base vs AS and 2018 vs 2019. All of the above are available and within $2k of each other. So if budget not the concern, which do you buy and why? I love the look and added functionality of the AS, but it’s SO high! Almost unnecessarily so in my opinion. The base would be fine for me, but I definitely like the paint options better on AS. Some will say to ignore the looks of the bike, but the excitement factor of how it looks matters (to me).

So for your money, which variant and why?

By the way, I’m 5’11, 240lbs, 31 inch inseam. I’ve had bikes I couldn’t flat foot, but not ones that are 550lbs haha. The AS in low seat position has me on balls of feet. The base in same position I can flat foot.

·
Registered
222 Posts
In your position I'd go 2019 ATAS and get someone to sort an inch reduction from the seat.
I have a 2017 DCT. If I didn't and was in your position, I'd do the above. Bigger tank and the bits I'd actually want...additional lights/grips etc. And like you, I like the ATAS colour scheme

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
In your position I'd go 2019 ATAS and get someone to sort an inch reduction from the seat.
I have a 2017 DCT. If I didn't and was in your position, I'd do the above. Bigger tank and the bits I'd actually want...additional lights/grips etc. And like you, I like the ATAS colour scheme