Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am I missing something here?

I see plenty of full-length, flow-through (no restriction) aftermarket exhaust systems being employed all over the internet, yet I never see any discussions of how to remap the ignition on these bikes?

I am completely new to FI, but I know fuel/air mixture is totally ECU-based and non-adjustable except with a tuning device like a computer or handheld device.

The only place I've seen a remap discussion mentions a place called Rugged Roads in the UK somewhere.

I know these bikes are borderline 'as lean as technically possible' to pass all these Euro3 and Euro4 emissions standards, so wtf is going on here?

Don't they run like **** and backfire and burn valves when you put these racy exhausts on?

Or does the FI just do it's job based on 02 readings, and slightly enriches the mixture?

·
Registered
68 Posts
I am rather fortunate as I live around 15 miles away from the main Dynojet/Power commander agent for the UK (FW Develpoments) and my mechanic used to build engines and bikes for the TT for V+M Racing.

I have the original prototype PC5 Power Commander fitted and a bespoke fueling map installed on mine. FW used my AT as the development mule for the now available PC5.

The fuelling is now spot on and we are going to do some additional development on the engine over the winter, which will include gutting the airbox and should funds allow I would like to rip the heads off and get them gas flowed and possibly skimmed to increase the compression in the engine at FW.

The engine will then need to be re mapped/reflashed so the ignition is spot on and then will neeed to go back to FW for another fuel map to be installed on the Power Commander so it fuels correctly.