Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new-to-me '20 AT Manual. I just got all the suspension setup for some sportier riding and started playing with it a bit before the MABDR in May.

I'm not a big guy, 6'1" and 195, 230# with all the gear. Trying to set sag this evening, I had to completely max out the spring preload and I'm still 15-20 mm away from a 30% setting (220 mm shock is stock) so now I'm confused. I thought the AT was easily sprung for a 185-200 lb rider.

Has anyone else noticed this? Also, besides Touratech's Gold Plated, Platinum Filled $400 spring kit, does anyone else have springs for the AT? Have YOU done a re-spring?

NOTE: I did read the post from Nov. 2021, but I didn't want to revive that and he received some fairly unhelpful answers. "WhY dO YoU wANT tO SeT RacE SaG?" ect. I'm no expert, but I've been riding for a few decades and I've had a few bikes. I'm curious about whether anyone else has this issue and what you did about it.

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This thread goes back to Sep. 2020 and I just read the whole thing. I found that while it started as something seemingly unrelated, all of my questions were answered in 3 pages and 15 minutes of reading/research.

I'm shocked at the number of riders that have NO idea what suspension is for and how profoundly stupid and downright dangerous some of the suggestions are. I don't know why I'm surprised, but I always am because I have tremendous faith in humanity I guess. Anyway, if my title interests you, go read that thread. There are some pretty smart guys over there too.

· Registered
330 Posts