Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is no excuse for failing to design and manufacture a safety critical part like gearbox input shaft that can fail in a machine this new. This is especially true for a machine that purports to be the best of breed.

NHTSA Recall ID Number : 23V011
Manufacturer : BMW of North America, LLC
Subject : Gearbox Input Shaft May Break

Make
Model Model Years
BMW R 1250 GS 2019-2023
BMW R 1250 GS ADVENTURE 2019-2023
BMW R 1250 RT 2019-2023

· Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can't speak to flaking welds that clog fuel pumps, bad paint, corroding frames, and scratched fork tubes. My AT is a 2021 model and it did have bad DCT maps but the dealer was excellent about taking care of that. My point about the beemer is that a safety critical mechanical part like gearbox input shaft must be designed and manufactured with safety margins. I am an engineer with some experience in this area and have worked on Navy aircraft and NASA spacecraft. I don't know the failure mode of the BMW gearbox shaft and they will probably never disclose it to the public but the need to recall bikes for that part indicates a poor engineering design and test process at the company. No way something like this should have made it into production. The Honda AT 'demons' are not nearly as dangerous to the rider as a catastrophic mechanical failure that can spit the rider off the bike at speed.

· Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@Dado the picture you show is of an older 'hexhead' model BMW GS that was known for final drive failures. That may indeed be the cause of the broken swingarm and driveshaft in this picture. The gearbox input shaft is between the engine and transmission and not visible. The models affected by this design fault are the newest 1250cc models. I was a long time BMW owner (25 years) but no more.

· Registered
684 Posts