Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob when it comes to ADV moto/riding so forgive me for the following dumb question: Are specific brand luggage racks compatible with panniers from different make?

For example, will a Givi pannier fit onto a Hepco & Becker rack? Just using those two brands as an example.

Also, will a BMW1200GS Givi pannier fit on a Givi pannier rack specifically made for a Honda Africa Twin?

Are there any luggage rack brands I should stay away from due to poor crash results? For example, I saw some rack designs that bolted onto the rear plastic fender by the license plate which from a structural POV makes no sense. Why not have a bar connecting one rack to another behind the license fender like designed by other brands. Or am I missing something here?

Also, is the rear passenger peg necessary to mount the luggage racks? I recall a member's comment that stated something about not buying a particular exhaust because it required the removal of the passenger peg. Not sure if it had to do with the fact the passenger peg is required to install a luggage rack or she/he wanted a passenger.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'm a noob when it comes to ADV moto/riding so forgive me for the following dumb question: Are specific brand luggage racks compatible with panniers from different make?

For example, will a Givi pannier fit onto a Hepco & Becker rack? Just using those two brands as an example.

Also, will a BMW1200GS Givi pannier fit on a Givi pannier rack specifically made for a Honda Africa Twin?