Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As long as your engine block isn’t hot, is there any reason i shouldn’t pressure wash my AT? There’s a car wash right down the street from my house, but I have this intuitive sense that i shouldn’t. Thoughts?

·
Registered
28 Posts
I think you would be fine no difference from being off road with a hot engine and riding through a ford or flooded trail.. Only my thoughts im not a mechanic...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Just keep away from the o-ring chain - you don't want water under the seals. I pressure wash motorbikes all the time, but tend to keep away from any potentially sensitive parts - the instrument cluster, electrical stuff, carbies, exhaust pipe opening, etc....

·
Registered
212 Posts
Just keep away from the o-ring chain - you don't want water under the seals. I pressure wash motorbikes all the time, but tend to keep away from any potentially sensitive parts - the instrument cluster, electrical stuff, carbies, exhaust pipe opening, etc....
Add wheel bearings and rear suspension pivots to the list.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Not a good idea folks..

The bike shall get water propelled at angles not normal to riding conditions & could get into areas on the top half of the bike's electrical stuff like switches connectors etc.

I am only saying it could happen.., especially when the bike ages & rubbers get older..

Rather safe than sorry I say..

·
Registered
119 Posts
I wouldn't worry about it. Use a bit of a spray instead of a tight beam of water. Don't be an idiot and spray high speed water at the instrument cluster or fusebox etc. but for most areas it shouldn't be a problem.

·
Registered
988 Posts
Works just fine. I wouldn't blast away at your sealed x-ring chain or the hubs, or any open electrical parts, but otherwise, it shouldn't be an issue.

·