Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In my area motorcycle shops, as a rule, do not repair punctured motorcycle tires regardless of whether the puncture is in the tread or sidewall, tubeless or tubed, two seasons old or one day old. Strangely enough some of the automotive tire shops will repair a motorcycle tire if the puncture is small and not near or in the sidewall. I am located in Ontario, Canada. I know tire technology has come a long ways since I started riding over 40 years ago. The same applies to tire/tube repair materials as well. Collectively riders and drivers used to fix flats without reservation, so why the refusals to fix a flat now? What is the experience of riders in other countries?

·
Registered
374 Posts
Shops near me likewise will not patch/plug them either due to the liabilities. Much like with all wheel drive cars how they will insist you have to replace all 4 beyond a certain tread depth. Everyone is careful about covering their own butts. There are a couple small shops, usually single owner that may do it, but I don't know any of the bigger shops/dealers around me that will do it.

That said, it's not really a big deal with a tubed tire as long as the tire isn't compromised. I picked up a nail on a front tire a couple years ago. Put a new tube in it and rode it out until it needed to be replaced.

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
379 Posts
For a tubeless, I will only repair a puncture that's within the central 3/5ths, so sufficiently away from the side walls. The hole must be clean with no sign of tearing. So caused by a nail or screw or similarly sharp pointy object and 6mm across or less. This for a permanent repair anything else would be a "get me home - ride with extreme caution" and then replace the tyre ASAP.