Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

Question About Tip Overs

5K views 15 replies 12 participants last post by  DCTFAN 
#1 ·
I am a new Africa Twin owner. This past weekend I was going up a muddy hill, didn't make it up and slowly laid the bike over into the mud. I just picked it up and took it to the car wash to wash off mud from the handlebar and footpeg.

It has be wondering, how often to offroaders tip over there bike? What's the circumstance?
What features does the Africa Twin have to protect it during a tip over?
What should I buy to protect my bike while offroading?

I know this is a lot but I'm still new to the game. Thanks!

#2 ·
how often to offroaders tip over there bike?
Depends how much FUN you're having on your bike
What's the circumstance?
Depends what you were thinking at the time of fall
The only feature is the angle sensor which cuts off the engine
Good engine guards or pay for training to fall without damage.

I'm skilled at falling without hurt- don't care about the bike as long as I can ride on it:
Motor vehicle Tire Automotive tire Vehicle Off-roading

Reactions: Amphib
#5 ·
Depends how much FUN you're having on your bike
What's the circumstance?
Depends what you were thinking at the time of fall
The only feature is the angle sensor which cuts off the engine
Good engine guards or pay for training to fall without damage.
That is some nap! ... .... with pride!

#3 · (Edited)
Off-road drops aren't uncommon, especially on the larger and heavier ADV bikes. Smaller and more flick-able off-roaders are much more forgiving than the AT, so don't beat yourself up.
Typically the damage caused by slow or static drops is cosmetic only but you can protect your bike with some additions.

Crash bars cover your engine and fairings... and really are a must for keeping your bike in good condition.
Steel or aluminium back guards (Barkbusters and Givi make some) reinforce your handlebars and can minimize twisting breakages.