Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*RANT*

I'm new to the ADV world and the first thing I noticed was how expensive the aftermarket parts are. Even the asking price on used parts aren't all that far away from retail prices.

Obviously the ADV community isn't as big as the sportbike community, hence the hike in prices. I'm pretty sure other factors like the economy and companies outsourcing and what not plays a role in inflation.

Or does it?

Sales in 2015 and first half of 2016 revealed a slight increase in almost every category. Yet ADV aftermarket part prices remain high, if not continues to grow. Supply and demand? Plenty of demands. Doesn't mean the prices has to be so high. Sheesh!

I don't make much but at the same time I don't make little.

Granted I've spent $$,$$$ every year racing but that's one of the reasons why I stopped. Sadly, all that money now just gets poured into my house. The price of owning a house I suppose.

I'm willing to bet if this sport (ADV) wasn't so expensive more people would be buying/participating in it.

Sorry for the rant...I just made a list of things I want/buy/need and it's so **** expensive! I'm just a cheapass. :grin2:

·
Registered
124 Posts
I make a lot of my own parts so I'm very familiar with what goes into the manufacture of aftermarket parts. If you want quality you will pay for quality. If you want to save a $ or 2 then get access to a machine shop, learn to weld, and off you go.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, so with your experience in making your own parts explain to me why the prices for the Outback Motortek Crashbars keeps going up? Oh let me guess...the quality went up by adding stamped ribs on the bottom.

Or is it greed from the manufacturer to stay competitive?