Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I wonder if anyone may be able to help me.

I have a 2017 AT (DCT model if that makes any difference).

When I clean it, I tend to remove the front screen and other bits and pieces. I can then dump them in the sink to remove road crud and flies etc. Much easier!

However... This time I’ve been a bit stupid. In putting the screen back on, I put a bit too much pressure on one of the screws, and the rubber mounting/grommet behind has fallen off into the fairing.

I’m thinking that I *may* be able to get at it if I remove the back of the headlights, but I can’t find any info online on how to do that.

Does anyone have any ideas of how to retrieve this grommet?

Thanks.

·
Registered
77 Posts
I may be wrong here as I'm pretty new to the Africa twin myself.
I think you would be better off ordering a new part from Honda. The fairing is not very easy to dismantle. Many many fixings of both hex heads and plastic clips holding it together.
If its just the rubber bungs on the back of each headlight. They just pull off. Maybe easier with some grips.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I may be wrong here as I'm pretty new to the Africa twin myself.
I think you would be better off ordering a new part from Honda. The fairing is not very easy to dismantle. Many many fixings of both hex heads and plastic clips holding it together.
If its just the rubber bungs on the back of each headlight. They just pull off. Maybe easier with some grips.
Thanks for the response. It’s not that I need a new part, nothing has broken. I’m just trying to find out how to retrieve the other end of the bolt that fell off! Due to my incompetence of course!

I guess you’re on the right lines though. I reckon that I will need to take the fairing apart to retrieve it. Sigh...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Im with SROG order yourself some new well nuts and replace it.