Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

Thanks for the ad, still maybe I have buyers remorse...

4K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Mr Biker 
#1 ·
Bought the ATAS DCT and now wondering if I shoudn't have bought the manual. DCT just doesn't have the jump I'm used to from my other GSs (granted bigger engine though my F800 GS (even in manual mode) was quicker and handled better. Also having a heck of time getting the suspension where I want it -- too soft. After already dropping ~$1000n on Outback Mototec Bars and skid plate, Alt Rider luggage rack, Clearwater running lights, etc., think I may have to invest in a professional suspension set up guru to help me fathom the black art of set up. ATLAS has 4000 mi on it so far. I'm 190-200 lbs in my riding gear and 6 ft. Pretty average size.

Anyone else have similar issues? TIA

Attachments

See less See more
#6 ·
I had my ATAS DCT 3 days and tried to exchange it for a manual. I now have 10,000 miles on my DCT and I'm still learning how to fully use its advantages. It is better than manual but it has a longer learning curve than you think it would. I beat an ST1300 in a short drag race using the DCT this past weekend. Learn the bike and learn the advantages.

#7 ·
I can't comment on the DCT.

The ATAS has stiffer fork tubes, and better inner fork/bushing design. It
shouldn't suffer from the same fate as the 16 17 fork tubes. It's **** likely the regular 18 tubes will wear too.

The valving is poor on the forks, I doubt the ATAS is sorted. Ditto with the shock.
Before throwing money at suspension, set your sag, and go ride a same bit of road. Set your compression as per factory, and tune the front with rebound to get the setting you want.

Suspension is the failing point on the AT.
https://thetenerist.wordpress.com/2018/10/06/2017-honda-crf-1000-africa-twin-fork-inspection/

#9 ·