Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of August's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yikes. How did you break that in? What oil are you running?
The very beginning of travel began to burn oil. For 12k topped up 4l. Came to the dealer and this is the picture. Oil 10-30
I apologize for the English, I write through Google translator)

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I'm not an expert but those grooves look severe. I wonder if the piston broke a ring or something. Is it the same on both pistons? Can these engines be machined and cylinder walls sleeved or do you just have to replace the cylinders?
The motor is running, just eating oil. It is not yet known what the officers will do.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Is this a CRF1000 or CRF1100? The cylinders are different designs. The CRF1000 has a steel liner bore and the CRF1100 is a hard coated bore similar to Nikasil. The cylinder scouring looks like a typical over heating situation where the piston outgrows the cylinder or a low oil partial seizure. If not under warranty and it is a CRF1000 it can easily be bored if oversize pistons are available. It looks like a .25 mm overbore will clean this up. I have a cylinder boring machine and have bored thousands of motorcycle cylinders over the last 40 years.
Honda CRF 1100 2021

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #28 ·
Regardless of how it happened, you found the problem. I've seen this once before in an engine. Oil was contaminated during an oil change. I've seen it to a lesser extent by extended oil change intervals combined with hard use.

If you run any engine hard, hot, or both you need to shorten the oil change interval.