Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I think some of this stuff has been posted before,

How does everyone find the OEM tyres?

Is it safe to run tubeless tyres with an inner tube? ( I am new to tubed tyres)

Lastly best tyres for mostly road going as finding it hard to find tyres for the rear wheel size.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
77 Posts
quite a few posts on this.

OEM tyres are crap on the road.

Fit Conti TA2's best for mostly tarmac

·
Registered
295 Posts
I've found the OEM tire to work just fine on pavement, gravel, packed dirt, and loose dirt. At highway speeds 75+ mph no issues, in the canyons, not pushing it but still going fast enough to pass cars, no issues. I've not run them in the rain, but running them across snow melt running across wide swaths of pavement, no issues... They work about as well as expected on Tar Snakes and wet paint stripes. Meaning they move around but never scary...

As I stated in a different thread, while they are "okay" for a little bit of everything, I tend to do 50/50 and prefer either a 50/50 tire or the Karoo 3s (some say the Karoo is a 70/30) as they seem to work well for everything I encounter where I ride...

I'm not sure whey it seems the European reports of the tire are so poor compared to the North America reports on the tire...

·
Registered
238 Posts
Danncerdave is spot on.Conti TA 2,s the best for Northern Europe anyway with different types of weather and temperatures.oem,s are dangerous on cold wet roads.

·
Registered
17 Posts