Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a 2020 ATAS in January 2021. I have taken the bike out on several 300 mile trips and every time I am hit with wind, the front of the bike feels like it is going to flip. I have at least 25 years experience riding street and dirt bikes and I have never experienced such an unsafe feeling. I purchased this bike to ride with my wife. I weigh 210 and she weighs 150. We were told at the dealership the bike could hold our weight and more, but there is such wind resistance and the bike feels so unsafe. We see couples or individuals riding on different bikes and they cut thru the wind no problem. We are trying to figure out if we need to lower or raise the bike or change the tires. Do you have any recommendations? We want to make many trips on this bike but I really need to fix this problem. Any recommendation is appreciated.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Interesting... I've come around hills and been hit with gusts of maybe like 35-ish MPH winds from different directions and the AT just ignores it. Have passed semis on two lane highway with us both going 70 MPH and no problem..... I've said the AT is too heavy but that weight works against wind..... mystery

·
Super Moderator
5,761 Posts
Hello @GusDespe, and welcome to the Forum.

I swear somewhere in the Forum (might be a tricky search) a member mentioned an improper suspension set-up. There are many members who are quite knowledgeable in the area of suspension. Maybe they can quote the post, and/or offer a word.

I ride in gusty and windy situations all the time, particularly on freeways. For me the CRF1000L has handled all situations without drama. I have had other bikes that did far worse, as you describe.

In the meantime, feel free to introduce yourself at the New Member Introductions area of the Forum.

·
Registered