Honda Africa Twin Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, i am buying my first ADV. I have plenty of road and dirt experience on dedicated road and dirt machines. Now i want ADV, i am very keenon the 2020 AT and will be testing on Sat and buying something soon after.

Will likely be 70/30 road/dirt. I like something a little lively and very comfy on the road, but manageable as possible on the dirt. i dont want a giant machine.

I think the CRF1100L (black and red model) is for me generally, however, i do have one or two big trips planned where the big tank would be nice. Rest of the time i dont really need any bulk.

I have a naked roadie so i dont need fairing, but a 10000km trip it might start being an issue. Is there any difference between the CRF1100L and the AS model in terms of winds and comfort on long trips? (i dont want DCT or ES).

How big a difference in power/comfort/handling (not gizmos) between the 2017 and 2020?

My wife is also buying one, but she will check out a few models and make sure she doesnt get anything too massive. She has a 1200cc street bike, she can handle the power, its the weight and bulk that might be an issue for her. For maintenance and spares, i'd really like to buy a pair of whatever i buy.

·
Super Moderator
4,071 Posts
Welcome to the Forum @JimmyTheHuman.

All Africa Twins are big. The ATAS versions are even more wieldy with the extra large fuel tank. There is definitely enough power whether going with the 1000 or 1100 cc model. They are long haul highway worthy and IMHO well-behaved, especially with a windshield upgrade or supplement. They are no dirt bike, so be prepared to manage the weight, but many Forum members will write that they are surprisingly balanced in the dirt. 2020 has many new tech features over previous years. They come at a premium. Those features are described many times that a Forum search will reveal.

·
Super Moderator
2,265 Posts
@JimmyTheHuman