Honda Africa Twin Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of July's Ride of the Month Challenge! Theme: Drop it like it's hot!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Morning,

I'm returning to motorcycling after selling my last Triumph Street Triple R in 2012 and like the concept of adventure bikes. It's very likely it would only see dirt roads and double track trails but mostly used for commuting.

It's hard for me to justify the cost of the 2020 AT or maybe the Triumph Tiger 900 over the 2019 AT. My main concern is seat height and weight after owning sport bikes like the Interceptor 500, Super Hawk & RC51.

Thanks for your input.

·
Administrator
3,316 Posts
I have no experience with the Tiger 900, but used to own a Tiger 800XC. I found the Triumph carried its weight much higher than the AT. I am not sure if Triumph addressed this at all with the 900.

You haven't meantioned your height, so I can't offer much there othee than to say I am 6'2 33" inseam and have an Adventure Sports Model with the OEM seat in the high position. My wife is 5'8" 32"; inseam and rides a standard AT with the OEM seat in the low position.

There are many options out there beside the Tiger 900 and Africa Twin, I am sure you will find one that fits your needs best.

Welcome to the forum!

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

·
Keeping’em Moderatorated
2018 Adventure Sports DCT
2,996 Posts
I will add..
I use my bike as a commuter too and I absolutely love the DCT for that. I have a
18 ATAS

·
Registered
31 Posts
I’d buy a Versys-X 300 and a KLX250 instead of an AT if I had it to do over. I don’t find the AT engine to be particularly good at street or dirt.

·
Registered
191 Posts
It's very likely it would only see dirt roads and double track trails but mostly used for commuting.